Celebrating Womanhood Regional Awards

The first Celebrating Womanhood Regional Awards encapsulating the 8 SAARC countries is being organized in autumn 2008. The awards shall be presented on the same night as the Celebrating Womanhood Navadevi Awards. Celebrating Womanhood is based on recognizing the strengths of women and celebrating their achievements. The Regional Awards aims to encourage sharing and learning from the experiences, skills, knowledge and wisdom of the women who have pressed on in their quest to create opportunities despite adversities.

South Asian Recipients 2008

1 Afganistan Culture Ms. Nahid Bashardost
2 Bangladesh Environment Ms. Syeda Rizwana Hasan
3 Bhutan Economy Ms. Chimi Wangmo
4 India Social Harmony Dr. Meenakshi Gopinath
5 Nepal Education Dr. Meena Singh Khadka
6 Pakistan Governance Ms. Nafisa Shah
7 Sri Lanka Peace Ms. Pearl Stephen